The Clark County Retired Teachers Association (CCRTA) invites college and university students who plan to become teachers to apply for a $1000 scholarship to help with their college expenses.

The organization awarded four one-thousand-dollar scholarships in June 2017 and will award four scholarships in that amount this school year. Applications will be accepted between January 15 and March 20, 2018.

The scholarship comes with the following requirements: the applicant must have graduated from a public high school in Clark County, either Springfield High School or a county high school; the applicant must be in a teacher-training program with a minimum 2.5 grade point average and must hold a Junior or Senior status as of the fall of 2018.

Neal E. Weber Memorial $1000 Scholarship: Kara Patterson, graduate of Shawnee HS, junior at Liberty University, majoring in Elementary Education.
   Neal E. Weber served on the Clark-Shawnee Board of Education for 34 years. 

CCRTA/ Ann G. Martin and Bibiana DeWitt Memorial $1000 Scholarship: Lauren Rudd, graduate of Tecumseh HS, junior year at Wright State University, majoring in Middle Childhood Education.

CCRTA/Heartland Federal Credit Union $1000 Scholarship: Emily Schafer, graduate of Kenton Ridge HS, junior at Bowling Green State University, majoring in inclusive Early Childhood Educationin.

 CCRTA $1000 Scholarship: Graham Roan, graduate of Kenton Ridge HS, junior at Wittenberg University, majoring in integrated Social Studies. 

CCRTA scholarships

2017 CCRTA Scholarship recipients include (left to right): Kara Patterson, Lauren Rudd, Emily Schafer and Graham Roan.